Today, President Donald Trump announced that he will be designating David Kautter, the U.S. Treasury Department’s Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy, as Acting Commissioner of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Commissioner John Koskinen’s term expires November 12th, and Kautter will step in to serve as Acting Commissioner on November 13th. While Kautter was recently confirmed by the U.S. Senate to serve as Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy on August 3rd, 2017, he will continue to carry out his duties as Assistant Secretary while serving as Acting Commissioner. Deputy Commissioners Kirsten Wielobob and Jeff Tribiano will continue serving in their current roles at IRS while reporting to Kautter when he steps in to serve as Acting Commissioner after Commissioner finishes serving out the remainder of his term.


This is important as our Congress moves forward on tax reform.  We have not had major reform in over thirty years, and our code needs revamping to better reflect the 21st century.


As always your I am your tax expert.


Ryan Mitchell